Big 12 News

12-Team College Football Playoff Schedule Announced for 2024, 2025

NCAA Football: Northwestern at Wisconsin

On Wednesday evening, the Rose Bowl informed the College Football Playoff that is has agreed to amend its contract, which opened the door for a 12-team playoff to happen in 2024-25.

Then, on Thursday morning, the College Football Playoff (CFP) made the announcement that its Board of Managers has agreed to begin the newly-expanded 12-team playoff during the 2024-2025 season.


“We’re delighted to be moving forward,” said¬†Bill Hancock, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff. “When the board expanded the playoff beginning in 2026 and asked the CFP Management Committee to examine the feasibility of starting the new format earlier, the Management Committee went right to work. More teams and more access mean more excitement for fans, alumni, students and student-athletes. We appreciate the leaders of the six bowl games and the two future national championship game host cities for their cooperation. Everyone realized that this change is in the best interest of college football and pulled together to make it happen.”

With the announcement came the first schedule for the expanded playoff, which will start in December and will finish with the national championship games in mid-to-late January.


The first round of the playoff in 2024 will take place the week ending Saturday, December 21, at either the home field of the higher-seeded team or at another site designated by the higher-seeded institution. (No. 12 at No. 5, No. 11 at No. 6, No. 10 at No. 7, and No. 9 at No. 8.) The specific game dates, likely late in that week, will be announced later.

For the 2024 and 2025 seasons, the four quarterfinal games and two Playoff Semifinal games will be played in bowls on a rotating basis. The 2024 quarterfinals will take place in the Fiesta Bowl, Peach Bowl, Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl, while the Cotton Bowl and Orange Bowl will host the Playoff Semifinals. The 2025 quarterfinals will take place in the Cotton Bowl, Orange Bowl, Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl, while the Fiesta Bowl and Peach Bowl will host the Playoff Semifinals. Specific dates for all quarterfinal and semifinal games will be announced at a later time.

The national championship games will be played January 20, 2025, in Atlanta, and January 19, 2026, in Miami.

To Top