Big 12 News

TCU’s Sonny Dykes Named Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year

Sonny Dykes

TCU head coach Sonny Dykes has won just about every Coach of the Year honor there is after leading the Horned Frogs to an undefeated regular season and a College Football Playoff appearance. Now, he can add the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award to that list.

Being selected as the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year comes just one day after being named the AP Coach of the Year, where he received 37 of 46 first-place votes and 120 points from AP Top 25 voters to become the second TCU to win the award, according to the Associated Press.


According to a TCU press release, Dykes has totaled seven National Coach of the Year awards this season and will receive the iconic bust of the late Robinson, a College Football Hall of Fame coach at Grambling State for 55 years and winner of 408 games, at a Jan. 7, 2023, reception in Los Angeles prior to the College Football Playoff National Championship Game.

TCU finished 5-7 (3-6 Big 12) last season, and wasn’t expected to be a player in the Big 12 title race this season after being picked to finish seventh by Big 12 media.

Instead, Dykes’ Frogs went undefeated in the regular season and have looked like a playoff team since about the halfway point of the year.

Naturally, Dykes won Big 12 Coach of the Year honors (unanimous selection), the Walter Camp Coach of the Year, the Home Depot Coach of the Year, and now is the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

Now, with his future secured and accolades piling up, Dykes can continue to work at making TCU an annual powerhouse out of the Big 12 Conference and hopefully lead them to a victory in the school’s first College Football Playoff appearance.

To Top