Baylor Bears

Iowa State’s Ashley Joens, Baylor’s Littlepage-Buggs Selected for Big 12 Women’s Weekly Honors

Iowa State women's basketball player Ashley Joens

After another week of Big 12 women’s basketball, Iowa State’s Ashley Joens and Baylor’s Darianna Littlepage-Buggs have been selected as the Big 12 Player and Freshman of the Week, respectively.

Here’s what the Big 12 press release had to say about each of the selections, who were both vital to their team’s success this week.


Joens averaged 25.5 points, 10.5 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 2.0 steals as Iowa State extended its Big 12-best winning streak to four games. In Wednesday’s contest against TCU, Joens had 19 points and 14 rebounds, spending the last 8:41 on the bench as the Cyclones had built up a big lead in the eventual 75-35 victory. The Iowa City native had 32 points, seven rebounds and three assists in Saturday’s Top 25 showdown against No. 14 Oklahoma. The NCAA’s active career scoring leader, Joens moved past Courtney Paris (Oklahoma, 2005-09) for third on the Big 12’s all-time career points list with 2,752. It is Joens’ second weekly award of the season and the 12th of her career—tying her with former teammate Bridget Carleton for second most in Conference history.

Littlepage-Buggs notched her eighth double-double of the season—the most among Big 12 rookies—with 16 points and 10 rebounds in the Bears’ 79-59 win over Texas Tech. The Edmond, Oklahoma native made five of her six field goals (83.3%) and went six-of-eight from the free throw line. She added three blocks as BU improved to 3-1 in Big 12 road games. Littlepage-Buggs has received Freshman of the Week honors four times this season, including three of the last four weeks.


Big 12 Women’s Basketball Players of the Week

Nov. 14: Gabby Gregory, Kansas State
Nov. 21: Ashley Joens, Iowa State
Nov. 28: Stephanie Soares, Iowa State
Dec. 5: Taylen Collins, Oklahoma State
Dec. 12: DeYona Gaston, Texas
Dec. 19: Zakiyah Franklin, Kansas
Dec. 23: Madi Williams, Oklahoma
Jan. 3: Rori Harmon, Texas and Taiyanna Jackson, Kansas
Jan. 9: Sarah Andrews, Baylor
Jan. 16: Naomie Alnatas, Oklahoma State and Bre’Amber Scott, Texas Tech
Jan. 23: Madi Williams, Oklahoma
Jan. 30: Ashley Joens, Iowa State

Nov. 14: Bella Fontleroy, Baylor
Nov. 21: Bailey Maupin, Texas Tech
Nov. 28: Jasmine Shavers, Texas Tech
Dec. 5: Bella Fontleroy, Baylor
Dec. 12: Darianna Littlepage-Buggs, Baylor
Dec. 19: Denae Fritz, Iowa State
Dec. 23: Bailey Maupin, Texas Tech
Jan. 3: Jasmine Shavers, Texas Tech
Jan. 9: Darianna Littlepage-Buggs, Baylor
Jan. 16: Jasmine Shavers, Texas Tech
Jan. 23: Darianna Littlepage-Buggs, Baylor
Jan. 30: Darianna Littlepage-Buggs, Baylor

To Top