Big 12 Basketball

Rori Harmon Makes Lieberman Top 10 Award List

NCAA Womens Basketball: Texas at Tennessee

Texas guard Rori Harmon was named to the Nancy Lieberman Award top 10 on Monday, the award given to the nation’s best point guard.

Iowa State’s Emily Ryan, who was on the original watch list released in October, did not make the cut for the Top 10. She and Harmon were both named to the All-Big 12 Preseason team in October.

Harmon was the Big 12 Tournament Most Outstanding Player last March and helped the Longhorns to a trip to the NCAA Tournament’s Elite Eight.


Harmon got off to a slow start this season, as she missed several games due to an injury. But she’s come on in conference play and has the Longhorns tied for the Big 12 lead with Iowa State.

Harmon is averaging 11.4 points, 5.0 rebounds and 7.3 assists per game this season. Her assists ranks fourth in the nation. She’s also averaging 2.5 steals per game.

Texas will face West Virginia on Wednesday, the first of two road games for the Longhorns this week.

The award, presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), is in its 24th year. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman.

Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward), Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center).

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include: Caitlin Clark, Iowa (2022), Paige Bueckers, UConn (2021), Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (2018-20), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04) and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).


Clark is part of the Top 10 this season.

2023 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Top 10

McKenna Hofschild, Colorado State

Lauren Park-Lane, Seton Hall

Maura Hendrixson, Drexel

Dyaisha Fair, Syracuse

Caitlin Clark, Iowa

Rori Harmon, Texas

Alexis Morris, LSU

Nika Mühl, UConn

Olivia Miles, Notre Dame

Jenna Clark, Yale

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top