Big 12 News

Patrick Mahomes Wins Second NFL Most Valuable Player Award

NFL: AFC Championship-Cincinnati Bengals at Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes won his second NFL Most Valuable Player Award, the NFL announced on Thursday during its annual awards ceremony.

Mahomes and the Chiefs will face the Philadelphia Eagles on Sunday in the Super Bowl as the former Texas Tech product seeks his second Super Bowl ring.


Mahomes received 48 of the 50 first-place votes from the Associated Press voting panel. The other finalists were Eagles quarterbacks Jalen Hurts — who will face Mahomes on Sunday — along with Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow, Bills quarterback Josh Allen and Vikings receiver Justin Jefferson.

Mahomes also became the 10th player in league history to win the award more than once. Mahomes won the award for the first time in 2018, his second year in the NFL.

Mahomes led the league with 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns in 2022.

Mahomes has already thrown for 24,241 yards in his six-year career, including 192 touchdown passes and just 49 interceptions.

Along with two NFL MVP awards, he’s a three-time All-Pro (two first-team selections). He’s a five-time Pro Bowl selection. He’s already led the NFL in passing yards once and touchdown passes twice.


Mahomes played three seasons at Texas Tech before leaving school early for the 2017 NFL Draft, where he was a first-round choice. In his final season at Texas Tech in 2016, he threw for 5,052 yards with 41 touchdowns and 10 interceptions.

Last year Mahomes was inducted in the Texas Tech Hall of Fame and into the Ring of Honor.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top