Iowa State’s Ashley Joens, Oklahoma’s Madi Williams Named Finalists for the Cheryl Miller Award

Madi Williams of Oklahoma women's basketball - 2

The Big 12 Conference lays claim to two of the top five small forwards in the country. Iowa State’s Ashley Joens and Oklahoma’s Madi Williams were both named finalists for the prestigious Cheryl Miller Award, given annually to the top player at that position in women’s college basketball.

The pair joins Stanford’s Haley Jones, Tennessee’s Rickea Jackson and Utah’s Gianna Kneepkens as finalists for the honor. Fans can support their favorite player by taking part in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, beginning Friday, March 3, on

The Fan Vote serves as one committee vote during the finalist selection process. Joens, Williams and the other three players mentioned above will be presented to Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee this month. The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is made up of top women’s college basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.


Joens, who is looking to become a three-peat winner of the Cheryl Miller Award, leads the Big 12 and ranks 17th nationally with her 20.5 points per game. She’s scored at least 20 in each of the Cyclones’ last four games. One of the best rebounders in the Big 12 as well, she’s fourth in the league with her 9.2 boards per contest, which she has helped convert into 11 double-doubles.

Williams stands as the only player in the country to average 24.5 points, 9.0 rebounds and 4.0 assists per 40 minutes this season. She’s seen her player efficiency rating skyrocket to over 29.0 during that span. Earlier this year, she became the first player in Oklahoma program history to eclipse 2,000 points, 850 rebounds and 300 assists in their career. With just 22 more rebounds, she’ll become the third Sooner women’s player with 2,000 career points and 1,000 rebounds, joining Courtney Paris and Molly McGuire.

To Top