Baylor Bears

Denae Fritz Announces Transfer from Iowa State to Baylor

Iowa State guard Denae Fritz.

Guard Denae Fritz revealed that she has committed to transfer to Baylor after two seasons with Iowa State, making the announcement on social media on Tuesday.

The home page of Fritz’s Twitter feed features a photo of her in a home white jersey for Baylor. Below that was a pinned tweet announcing her transfer.


Fritz is the fourth player to transfer to Baylor since the end of the season. Forward Madison Bartley (Belmont), guard Jada Walker (Kentucky) and guard Yaya Felder (Ohio) have all signed with Baylor for the 2023-24 season. All three averaged more than 10 points per game last season, with Felder averaging 22 points for the Bobcats.

Fritz came close to double digits. She was the Cyclones’ fifth-leading scorer, averaging 8.8 points per game for a team that won the Big 12 Tournament title for the first time in more than 20 seasons.

She told the Des Moines Register last month that she was looking for a transfer destination that featured a faster-paced offense.

Baylor lost two players to eligibility after the season, as guard Ja’Mee Asberry and forward Caitlin Bickle averaged more than 10 points last season. Three other Bears are in the transfer portal — guard Jaden Owens, forward Kendra Gillespie and forward Erika Porter.

Fritz isn’t the only player the Cyclones lost to the transfer portal. Lexi Donarski, a three-year starter, announced her transfer to North Carolina on Monday. She followed forward Morgan Kane (transferred to Division II Nova Southeastern), guard Maggie Espenmiller-McGraw (Montana) and forward Maggie Vick.

 You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

Most Popular

To Top