Big 12 News

Sixteen Big 12 Players on Earl Campbell Award Watch List

NCAA Football: Kansas at Texas

Sixteen Big 12 football players were named to the 2023 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List, released on Thursday.

The award is named for former Texas running back Earl Campbell, the 1977 Heisman Trophy winner who was the 1978 NFL Rookie of the Year with the Houston Oilers and was the 1979 NFL MVP.

He is now a member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.


Two players from Campbell’s alma mater — quarterback Quinn Ewers and wide receiver Xavier Worthy — are on the watch list.

Ten different Big 12 schools are represented on the list, including players from three new Big 12 schools.

TCU — which went to the College Football Playoff National Championship Game last year — had three players on the list. That includes quarterback Chandler Morris, wide receiver Savion Williams and offensive lineman Brandon Coleman.

Texas Tech also had multiple players on the watch list in quarterback Tyler Shough, running back Tahj Brooks and wide receiver Jerand Bradley.

A former Tech quarterback — Alan Bowman — was on the list. He’s now at Oklahoma State.

Other Big 12 players on the list included BYU wide receiver Keanu Hill, Baylor running back Richard Reese, Cincinnati wide receiver Donovan Ollie, Houston wide receiver Matthew Golden, Kansas wide receiver Lawrence Arnold and West Virginia wide receiver Noah Massey.

The award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who meetsone or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or currently playing at Texas D1 four-year college.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

Most Popular

To Top