Baylor Bears

Big 12 Lands 10 Teams in Latest Bracketology Update

With conference play officially upon us in the Big 12, ESPN released a bracketology update that features ten teams from the league earning an invite to the 2024 NCAA Tournament.

The ten teams listed as tournament participants are (1) Houston, (2) Kansas, (4) Baylor, (4) Iowa State, (6) Oklahoma, (6) BYU, (7) Texas Tech (7) Texas, (9) TCU, and (10) Cincinnati. Wes Miller and the Bearcats earned a nod and narrowly slipped into the field as the last team in.


With the Big 12 Conference continuing to provide opportunities for Quad 1 wins on a nightly basis, the league placed more teams than any other conference in Joe Lunardi’s latest update to the NCAA Tournament field.

Of the ten teams that were mentioned in the update, the group currently holds a collective record of 167-57.

In the scenario listed above, the matchups based on seeding would look something like this.

(1) Houston vs. (16) Eastern Kentucky

(2) Kansas vs. (15) Eastern Washington

(4) Baylor vs. (13) Akron

(4) Iowa State vs. (13) South Florida

(6) Oklahoma vs. (11) Washington State/Seton Hall

(6) BYU vs. (11) Ole Miss

(7) Texas Tech vs. (10) Butler

(7) Texas vs. (10) Texas A&M

(9) TCU vs. (8) St. Mary’s

(10) Cincinnati/Mississippi State vs. (7) Utah State

While the 2024 NCAA Tournament is still nearly a month and a half away, the ten teams listed above from the Big 12 Conference are currently passing the eye test as tournament bids, at least in the eyes of Joe Lunardi.

To Top