Big 12 News

SEC Regulations Will Apply to Oklahoma and Texas in Spring Portal Window

While Oklahoma and Texas do not technically become members of the SEC until July, both teams will have to operate under SEC rules and regulations in the spring transfer portal window.

According to a report from 247Sports’ Chris Hummer, interconference transfers will not be immediately eligible if they transfer to a fellow SEC school.


“Given that the Sooners and Longhorns will be members of the SEC in 2024, the same ruleset will apply to them,” Hummer said. Thus, Oklahoma and Texas players are restricted from transferring to SEC schools, while players leaving SEC programs are discouraged from picking the Sooners or Longhorns.”

The change is an interesting wrinkle for both programs, as Oklahoma and Texas both added transfers from the SEC in the previous spring. Oklahoma and Texas have made a living off of SEC transfers, including Oklahoma’s Da’Jon Terry and Brenen Thompson and Texas’ Isaiah Bond, Amari Niblack, and Adonai Mitchell.

With the NCAA losing any credibility it had left this offseason with multiple court rulings, the transfer portal has very few rules left in hopes of keeping things afloat. While many view the transfer portal as a shaky free-for-all, Oklahoma and Texas will have to be careful about which players they add this spring.

The spring transfer portal window will open on Monday, April 15th, and remain open for 15 days until Tuesday, April 30th.

To Top