Big 12 News

Three Big 12 Players Listed Among Finalists for 2024 USA Softball Player of the Year

Texas utility Reese Atwood (14) hits a double during the Big 12 softball tournament game between the Texas Longhorns and the Kansas Blue Jays at USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, on Friday, May 12, 2023.

USA Softball announced its 10 finalists for the 2024 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award on Wednesday, and three players from the Big 12 have made the penultimate cut.

Texas’ Reese Atwood, Oklahoma’s Tiare Jennings, and Oklahoma State’s Lexi Kilfoyl all made the list, a testament to just how special this conference has been in 2024.

According to a press release from USA Softball, The Top 10 Finalists feature three standout pitchers – two of whom also contribute on the offensive end – along with seven position players.


The group includes one graduate student, four seniors, one junior, three sophomores, and one freshman, representing ten different NCAA Division I universities. The Big 12 leads all conferences with three selections, while the ACC, Pac-12, and SEC each have two, and the Mid-American Conference with one. 

Below is the full list of finalists, courtesy of USA Softball.

Top 10 Finalists for 2024 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year

  • Reese Atwood, Texas
  • Jaysoni Beachum, Florida State
  • Maya Brady, UCLA
  • NiJaree Canady, Stanford
  • Claire Davidson, Duke
  • Tiare Jennings, Oklahoma
  • Lexi Kilfoyl, Oklahoma State
  • Korbe Otis, Florida
  • Karlyn Pickens, Tennessee
  • Karli Spaid, Miami (OH)

All 10 players will be active this weekend during the Regional round of the NCAA Softball Tournament. Each of the three Big 12 finalists will have a chance to host through Super Regional Weekend in Austin, Norman, and Stillwater.

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, which is equivalent to the Heisman Trophy in college football, is considered the highest individual honor in Division I collegiate softball.

The list of 10 players will be trimmed down to three players on Monday, May 20, and the winner of the award will be announced ahead of the Women’s College World Series.

Most Popular

To Top