Big 12 Baseball

Big 12 Baseball Individual Awards for 2024 Announced

Jun 25, 2022; Omaha, NE, USA; Oklahoma Sooners head coach Skip Johnson looks over the field before the game against the Ole Miss Rebels at Charles Schwab Field. Mandatory Credit: Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

On Monday, the Big 12 Conference unveiled its 2024 All-Big 12 Baseball Awards, with Texas outfielder Max Belyeu being named Big 12 Player of the Year and TCU left-hander Payton Tolle the Big 12 Pitcher of the Year.

League head coaches voted on the individual honorees and were not allowed to vote for players on their own teams.

Oklahoma’s Skip Johnson was selected as Coach of the Year after leading the Sooners to their first Big 12 regular season title in school history. Kansas pitcher Dominic Voegele was named Freshman of the Year, while Payton Tolle also added Newcomer of the Year to his list of accolades.


Here’s the announcement for each of the individual award winners and what the conference said about them.

Player of the Year: Max Belyeu, OF, Texas

Belyeu hit 11 of his 17 home runs in Big 12 games, tying for the league lead in Conference play. The sophomore from Aledo, Texas hit .341 with 14 doubles and 49 RBIs, good for a 1.147 on-base plus slugging, which ranked third in the league. He is the fifth Texas player to win the award, and the second in the past three seasons.

Newcomer of the Year; Pitcher of the Year: Payton Tolle, LHP, TCU

Tolle, who was the only unanimous selection on the All-Big 12 First Team, led the Conference with a 2.96 earned run average while posting a 7-3 record and a .191 batting average against. In Big 12 games, his 2.26 ERA and .184 batting average against led all starting pitchers. The junior from Yukon, Oklahoma is the first player to win both pitcher and newcomer awards in the same season from any school and becomes the second Horned Frog to win each of the awards.


Freshman of the Year: Dominic Voegele, RHP, Kansas

Voegele posted a 7-2 record with a 3.32 ERA, holding batters to a .228 average during his debut season in Lawrence. In league play, the righty from Columbia, Illinois ranked eighth among qualified pitchers with a 3.60 ERA and notched five of his seven wins. He becomes the second Kansas player to win Freshman of the Year, with the award now going to Jayhawks in back-to-back seasons.

Coach of the Year: Skip Johnson, Oklahoma

Johnson guided the Sooners to a 23-7 mark that included six sweeps of Big 12 opponents, as OU captured the regular season title by three games. He is the first Oklahoma coach to receive the Conference honor.

Most Popular

To Top