Big 12 News

WVU’s Derek Culver Named to Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award Watch List

NCAA Basketball: Nicholls State at West Virginia

West Virginia forward Derek Culver was named to the 2021 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award watch list, announced on Friday.

The winner of the award will be announced on April 9, 2021.

The 6-foot-10 forward was an All-Big 12 Honorable Mention pick last year after averaging 10.4 points and 8.6 rebounds per game, the latter of which was among the Top 5 in the Big 12. He also had 54 assists, 24 steals and had six double-doubles. Plus, no player attempted more free throws in the Big 12 last season than Culver.

Previous winners of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award include Luka Garza, Iowa (2020), Ethan Happ, Wisconsin (2019), Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (2018), Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016) and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015).


2021 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Candidates

Matt Haarms, BYU

Mark Williams, Duke

Kofi Cockburn, Illinois

Luka Garza, Iowa

Olivier Sarr, Kentucky

Ahsan Asadullah, Lipscomb

Cameron Krutwig, Loyola Chicago

Mousa Cisse, Memphis

Liam Robbins, Minnesota

Armando Bacot, North Carolina

Walker Kessler, North Carolina

Trevion Williams, Purdue

Grant Golden, Richmond

Evan Mobley, USC

Neemias Queta, Utah State

Jay Huff, Virginia

Derek Culver, West Virginia

Charles Bassey, Western Kentucky

Micah Potter, Wisconsin

Loudon Love, Wright State


Most Popular

To Top