Big 12 Basketball

Iowa State’s Ashley Joens Repeats as Cheryl Miller Award Winner

Iowa State women's basketball player Ashley Joens

Iowa State guard/forward Ashley Joens has won the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award for the second straight season.

Joens’ victory was announced between the first and second games of the national semifinals in Minneapolis on Friday night.

Joens, who announced earlier this week that she would return for a fifth season with Iowa State, won the award last season. Last season she averaged 24.2 points and 9.5 rebounds.


This season Joens averaged 20.3 points and 9.5 rebounds but shot a career-best 37.5 percent from the 3-point line.

Joens is already the all-time leading scorer in Iowa State women’s basketball history. She passed Angie Welle and Bridget Carleton this season to assume the top spot. She is also No. 7 all-time in scoring in the Big 12 Conference.

Joens and the Cyclones were ranked all season and were in the race for the Big 12 regular-season title until the final couple of weeks of the season. Iowa State was a No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament and played its first two games at home at Hilton Coliseum, winning both games. In the Sweet 16, the Cyclones lost to Creighton, ending their first trip to the Sweet 16 since 2009.

She’ll return with most of the Cyclones roster from last season, including All-Big 12 First Team guards Emily Ryan and guard Lexi Donarski (the latter of which was also Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year). There is also guard Aubrey Joens, who is Ashley’s younger sister.

Joens is out of help Iowa State break a couple of long streaks next season. The Cyclones haven’t won a Big 12 regular-season crown since 2000 and a Big 12 Tournament title since 2001.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.


Most Popular

To Top