Big 12 Basketball

Ashley Joens, Gabby Gregory On Dawn Staley Award Watch List

NCAA Womens Basketball: Big 12 Conference Tournament-Texas vs Iowa State

Iowa State’s Ashley Joens and Kansas State’s Gabby Gregory are the Big 12 players on the 2023 Dawn Staley Award late-season watch list released on Tuesday.

The award is named for Staley, a former All-American guard at Virginia who is now the head coach of the defending national champion South Carolina Gamecocks.


It is given to the player that best exemplifies the qualities Staley played with, including ball handling, scoring, her ability to distribute the basketball and her will to win, per the web site.

The list also includes last year’s winner, Iowa’s Caitlin Clark.

Joens is the all-time leading scorer and rebounder in Iowa State history and is three points away from becoming the No. 2 all-time scorer in Big 12 history. Joens is first in the Big 12 in scoring average at 20.2 points per game. She also averages 9.1 rebounds per game. She is the two-time Cheryl Miller Award winner, given to the nation’s best small forward.

Gregory ranks second in the Big 12 in scoring average (19.7 ppg) and free throw percentage (.861), fifth in 3-point field goals per game (2.50) and 3-point field goal percentage (.319), seventh in field goal percentage (.407), eighth in minutes played per game (33.26) and 17th in rebounds per game (5.17).

2023 Dawn Staley Award Late-Season Watch List


Caitlin Clark, Iowa

Ashley Joens, Iowa State

Haley Jones, Stanford

Diamond Johnson, North Carolina State

Zia Cooke, South Carolina

Olivia Miles, Notre Dame

Gabby Gregory, Kansas State

Hailey Van Lith, Louisville

Keishana Washington, Drexel

Lou Lopez Senechal, UConn

Ta’Niya Latson, Florida State

Alex Morris, LSU

Antwainette Walker, Eastern Kentucky

Dyaisha Fair, Syracuse

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard

To Top