Baylor Bears

Six Big 12 Players Named Semifinalists for Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Big 12 football logo

The semifinalists for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award were named on Thursday afternoon and among the 16 individuals chosen are six players who reside in the Big 12: Baylor QB Gerry Bohanon, Baylor RB Abram Smith, Kansas State RB Deuce Vaughn, Oklahoma RB Kennedy Brooks, Texas RB Bijan Robinson, and Texas WR Xavier Worthy. The full list is as follows:

QB Gerry Bohanon, Baylor
RB Kennedy Brooks, Oklahoma
WR Jacob Cowing, UTEP
QB Frank Harris, UTSA
RB Sincere McCormick, UTSA
QB Tanner Mordecai, SMU
RB Bijan Robinson, Texas
RB Abram Smith, Baylor

WR Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State
RB Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M
WR Jerreth Sterns, WKU
QB Clayton Tune, Houston
RB Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State
WR Garrett Wilson, Ohio State
WR Xavier Worthy, Texas
QB Bailey Zappe, WKU


According to the Tyler Morning Telegraph, a newspaper from Campbell’s hometown, the award is annually presented to the top offensive player in the country that exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity — specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas high school and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year Division I college in Texas.

Finalists will be announced on December 14 and the winner of the award will be announced at an annual banquet on January 12, 2022.

To Top