Big 12 News

Butler, Cunningham Are Wooden Award Finalists

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Oklahoma

Baylor’s Jared Butler and Oklahoma State’s Cade Cunningham are finalists for the 2020-21 Wooden Award, the Wooden Award committee announced on Saturday.

West Virginia forward Derek Culver, who was on the semifinalist list, dropped off the final 15 finalists.

Butler and the Bears are the nation’s No. 3 team and conclude the regular season on Sunday against Texas Tech. Butler led the Bears to their first Big 12 regular-season title and their first conference title since 1950.

READ MORE: Are the Jayhawks the ‘Overlooked’ Big 12 Team in March?

READ MORE: It’s Time for Oklahoma State to Pay Mike Boynton


Butler goes into Sunday’s game averaging 17.1 points, 3.2 rebounds, 5.0 assists and 2.2 steals per game.

Cunningham did not play in the Cowboys’ regular-season finale against West Virginia on Saturday due to an ankle injury suffered against Baylor on Thursday. But the Cowboys won that finale over the Mountaineers without him.

But Cunningham is averaging 19.7 points per game entering the Big 12 Tournament next week. He’s also averaging 6.3 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.4 steals per game.

Voting will take place from March 15th to March 22nd, and voters take into consideration a player’s entire season of play, as well as the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The finalists for the 2021 Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s will be announced on March 26th.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard. Send him a tweet with your question to be included in this week’s Big 12 Basketball Mailbag, which appears each Friday during the conference season.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

Wooden Award 2020-21 Men’s Finalists

F Charles Bassey, Western Kentucky

G Jared Butler, Baylor

C Kofi Cockburn, Illinois

F Derek Culver, West Virginia

G Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State

C Hunter Dickinson, Michigan

G Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois

C Luka Garza, Iowa

G Collin Gillespie, Villanova

F Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana

F Corey Kispert, Gonzaga

F E.J. Liddell, Ohio State

F Evan Mobley, USC

F Jeremiah Robinson-Earl, Villanova

G Jalen Suggs, Gonzaga

F Drew Timme, Gonzaga

To Top