Big 12 News

Texas Longhorns Announce Five Team Captains for 2018 Season

NCAA Football: Texas at Baylor

In a hard-to-hear video released on Twitter on Saturday, Texas head coach Tom Herman announced his five captains for the upcoming 2018 season. They are, in no particular order, defensive end Breckyn Hager, defensive tackle Chris Nelson, linebacker Anthony Wheeler, tight end Andrew Beck and guard Elijah Rodriguez.

Hager, Nelson and Wheeler are expected to have major impacts on the defense this coming season. Meantime, Beck was named a team captain prior to the 2017 season, but he missed the entire year with a foot injury. Beck has been around the program as long as anybody currently involved with UT football as he committed to the Longhorns in April of 2013 when Mack Brown was still the head coach.

All the players said a few words in the video, with Hager telling his teammates, “This is the biggest honor I’ve ever gotten in my life, to have you guys vote on me.” 

The Longhorns are coming off a 7-6 season and a win over Missouri in the Texas Bowl. This season, Texas is ranked in the Top 25 of the preseason AP Poll and open the season next Saturday on the road against Maryland.

Most Popular

To Top