Big 12 News

OU’s Nik Bonitto Named to Butkus Award Watch List

NCAA Football: Oklahoma at Iowa State

Oklahoma linebacker Nik Bonitto was one of several Big 12 players named to the 2021 Dick Butkus Award Watch List on Monday.

The watch list revealed the players that are initial candidates for the award given to the best linebacker in college football. It is named for Dick Butkus, who played his college football at Illinois and later became a Pro Football Hall of Famer with the Chicago Bears.

Bonitto was a First-Team Pro Football Focus All-American and a Second-Team Associated Press All-American after a 32-tackle season in 2020. That season included 10 1/2 tackles for loss and eight sacks. He also had a team-high 10 quarterback hurries.


READ MORE: Top Five Most Important Big 12 Conference Football Games in 2021

READ MORE: 2021 Preseason Big 12 Football Odds Released

The other two Big 12 players on the Butkus Watch List were Demarvion Overshown of Texas, Malcolm Rodriguez of Oklahoma State and Mike Rose of Iowa State. Rose is the reigning Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. He also earned First- and Second-Team All-America honors from several outlets.

You can find Matthew Postins on Twitter @PostinsPostcard.

**Want to win a $20 gift card?  Go sign up here and join our conversation! The best poster each week wins a gift card to your favorite establishment!** 

2021 Dick Butkus Award Watch List

(Big 12 Players in Bold)  

Blaze Alldredge, Missouri

Christopher Allen, Alabama

Will Anderson, Alabama

Adam Anderson, Georgia

Brian Asamoah, Oklahoma

Chris Bergin, Northwestern

Terrel Bernard, Baylor

Nik Bonnito, Oklahoma

Damone Clark, LSU

Nakobe Dean, Georgia

Olakunle Fatukasi, Rutgers

Amari Gainer, Florida State

Jeremiah Gemmel, North Carolina

Jackson Hankey, North Dakota State

Jake Hansen, Illinois

Aaron Hansford, Texas A&M

Christian Harris, Alabama

Lakia Henry, Mississippi

Nick Jackson, Virginia

Drake Jackson, USC

Mikel Jones, Syracuse

Nate Landman, Colorado

Devin Lloyd, Utah

Jesse Luketa, Penn State

Carlton Martial, Troy

Zakoby McClain, Auburn

Micah McFadden, Indiana

Ventrell Miller, Florida

Grant Morgan, Arkansas

Chad Muma, Wyoming

Anfernee Orji, Vanderbilt

Demarvion Overshown, Texas

James Patterson, Buffalo

Bumper Pool, Arkansas

Avery Roberts, Oregon State

Merlin Robertson, Arizona State

Malcolm Rodriguez, Oklahoma State

Mike Rose, Iowa State

Jack Sanborn, Wisconsin

Colin Schooler, Texas Tech

Noah Sewell, Oregon

James Skalski, Clemson

Brandon Smith, Penn State

Baylon Spector, Clemson

Jordan Strachan, South Carolina

Zion Tupuola-Fetui, Washington

Edefuan Ulofoshio, Washington

Quay Walker, Georgia

Payton Wilgar, BYU

Sam Williams, Mississippi

Payton Wilson, North Carolina State

To Top